Windows® XP system restore
Are you interested in knowing about the system restore feature of Windows XP?
The system restore is a feature of Windows XP that helps the system to return to an earlier state after is has undergone system failure or other major problems. It aims at restoring the system to a workable state without the user having to re-install the operating system and lose the data. Whenever a change is made on the system, the system restore feature takes snapshots and saves it as restore points. Therefore, a number of restore points are created that help in restoring the system to its previous condition. System restore helps Windows to run smoothly and safely. System restore is one of the best features of Windows XP operating system. Drivers and some settings can be reverted to their original versions through system restore feature and it can re-activate Windows XP. It is recommended to use this feature because if any issues arise in the future the user will be always guaranteed to have a valid restore point to revert to.
The following points include information on the need of using the system restore feature:
- Automatic Restore Points
- Amount of space required can be adjusted
- Options to delete restore points
Automatic Restore Points
The system restore feature keeps tracking the changes that occur on the computer. It creates restore points by taking snapshots of the registry and system files. When new device drivers, automatic updates and some applications are installed, then the restore points are created. These restore points are created without interventions from the user. It can also be created manually. Without losing personal data the user can revert to an earlier state by using system restore.
Amount of space required can be adjusted
If the partition is greater than 4GB, then twelve percent of your total space on the particular partition will be the amount of space a system restore will allocate towards its use. However, this amount can be adjusted easily on the system. To create more restore points the system restore will automatically delete the old and unwanted restore points.
The restore points stored on the computer can be deleted. This is useful to avail more space on the computer or if the user has made a mistake in performing the system restore, then the user can delete the earlier restore point. Windows XP will delete all restore points expect the most recent one. This can be done by turning off the system restore feature of Windows XP. The user can delete the old restore point if the system runs out of storage space and this will create more space for creating the new restore points.