System Restore in Windows® XP PC
What is the role played by system restore
utility in Windows® XP-based PC?
System restore is an in-built software utility program that takes your computer to an earlier time when it was working perfectly fine without any new changes. Performing a system restore does not affect personal files, e-mails, documents and images. In case if a newly installed program shows some unexpected changes on Windows® XP-based PC, restore to a date when your PC was working in a good condition. The functionality of system restore is to create and save restore points regularly on your computer. These restore points contain information about settings in registry, as well as new system applications that might have been installed on those particular dates. You can also manually generate restore points.
Following article discusses about the role played by system restore utility in Windows® XP-based PC:
- Functions of system restore
- Can system restore changes be reverted?
- Up to what duration restore points can be saved?
Functions of system restore
System restore features restore points that are created automatically, just before any major system events, such as the installation of a new software program or a device driver. Before starting system restore application, you need to save and close all your documents. Now click on ‘Start’, ‘All Programs’, ‘Accessories’ and ‘System Tools’. In ‘System Tools’ option, you need to select ‘System Restore’. Also, note the descriptions of restore points that have been created automatically by your system with Windows® XP operating system. As you click on a restore point, restart your computer or laptop. Also, note that if in case you are prompted for an administrator password, just type in the password or required information.
Can system restore changes be reverted?
Whenever system restore option is used, a restore point gets created. After performing system restore, if you still find your computer working improperly, you can revert changes and select a new restore point. You cannot undo the restore operation if your run system restore in Safe Mode.
Restore points are saved until the space in the hard disk gets filled. New restore points get created while old ones get deleted automatically. All restore points get deleted from that disk in case if you turn off the System Protection feature.