Guide to System Restore in Windows® XP
How does System Restore work in a computer with Windows® XP operating system?
System Restore is an option that takes your computer to an earlier time when your computer was working perfectly fine without any new changes. Performing a system restore does not affect your personal files, such as e-mails, documents and images. If a newly installed program shows some unexpected changes on your computer, you need to restore your system to a date when it was working in a good condition. Every system restore function creates and saves restore points on your computer regularly. These restore points contain information about registry setting, as well as new system applications that might have been installed on those particular dates. You can also manually generate restore points.
Following article discusses about the role played by System Restore in Windows® XP:
- Role of System Restore
- Can we undo System Restore changes?
- For how long restore points can be saved?
Role of System Restore
System Restore features various restore points in order to return your system settings to previous point in time without affecting personal data. These restore points are created automatically, just before any major system events, such as the installation of a new software program or a device driver. Before starting system restore application, you need to save and close all your documents. Now click on ‘Start’, ‘All Programs’, ‘Accessories’ and ‘System Tools’. In ‘System Tools’ option, you need to select ‘System Restore’. Also, note the descriptions of restore points that have been created automatically by your system with Windows® XP operating system. As you click on a restore point, restart your computer or laptop. Also, note that if in case you are prompted for an administrator password, just type in the password or required information.
Can we undo System Restore changes?
Whenever you use System Restore, a restore point gets created. After performing system restore if you still find that your computer is not working properly, you can undo changes and select a new restore point. Running system restore in Safe Mode or by using system recovery options, you cannot undo the restore operation.
Restore points are saved until the space in the hard disk space gets filled. As new restore points get created, old ones automatically get deleted. In case if you turn off System Protection feature, all restore points get deleted from that disk.