Delete Internet Explore® History
Deletion of Internet Explorer® history items
History actually means the collection of past data. Your system keeps the record of all visited sites and all other applications that you have opened. The history helps you to browse the Internet quickly. But Internet history may seriously compromise your privacy as it contains details about each URL you type in the address bar, every search string you enter in a search engine, information you enter when filling web forms, and more. Why should you need to delete the history? Your computer keeps all the details of sites that you surf. These might contain some private information which can be accessed by anyone using your PC. This might also contain some videos and images. This information can also be accessed by strangers. Deleting the history also improves system performance. By deleting all the temporary files created by the Windows® Explorer, you can save memory space also. This free space will be useful for many other purposes. Some history documents cannot be removed manually. In this case, you might need a history removing software. In Internet Explorer® you can delete the history by using the delete browsing history option. In Mozilla, select the details you want to delete and choose the clear now option to delete the history. Things to be kept in mind while deleting the history from Windows® Explorer are:
- Save favorite websites
- Turn off the Internet connection
- Activate firewall
Save favorite websites
Some history items which you might be needed for further use. Storing them in 'Favorites' makes it easy for later access. If you delete these necessary sites, you can access those sites from the favorites or book marks. Before clearing the history, remember to save the important sites to the favorites or to save those pages as web page.
Turn off the Internet connection
The Internet connection is also a factor which you should consider. If you need to delete any of the infected sites, then the active Internet connection helps to open the sites automatically and they might start problems. Before deleting history items, do not forget to turn off the Internet connection.
If you cannot turn off the Internet connection, remember to activate the firewall. The firewall might prevent the harmful sites from infecting your system.