Make Recycle Bin Empty In Windows® 7
It is absolutely necessary to clear the Recycle Bin as this will help to keep your machine free from unrequired files and folders.
- What does the Recycle Bin?
- Optimizing your Recycle Bin
What the Recycle Bin does?
The Recycle Bin in Windows® is much like a real recycle bin. Every file you delete will end up in that recycle bin that appears on your desktop. If you delete any file it is not actually deleted but moved into that bin. The actual files are not removed from the disk, only the references to that disk are removed. You cannot access those files once they are deleted, but they are still available in the recycle Bin. To access such files, you can double click on the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop. Then click ‘Restore’ to get back you file. In the case you do not wish to restore your files, or if you fear that other people may restore your files without you knowing, then it is best to permanently delete them by pressing ‘Shift’ and “Delete”.
Optimizing your Recycle Bin
You can also adjust the settings of your Recycle Bin. If you hardly use it and wish to save your deleted files, you can increase the maximum storage of The Recycle Bin. Simply right click the Recycle Bin and click on “Properties” and under “Recycle Bin Location” you can change the location of your Recycle Bin. Then click “Custom size” and then in the “Maximum size” box indicate the maximum storage size for your Recycle Bin. If you have a computer with external hard-drives or bigger hard-drives that are not on the C: drive, use those, because the C: drive is the drive on which all of your Windows® data is on, and the less space the C: drive has, the slower it works. By outsourcing your Recycle Bin to another, bigger drive you can have your computer run faster.
If you want to permanently delete the files into the recycle bin you can, under the “Recycle Bin Location” window check the “Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted”. This does not make files go into the recycle bin at all, but instead deletes them right away. If you also want to save time you can turn off the confirmation dialog by right-clicking the recycle bin and clicking on “Properties” and then go to the “Recycle Bin Location” window. In there you check the “Display delete confirmation dialog” box, and then you can delete freely.